Blogging out of both sides of my brain


“I’m just a soul whose intentions are good. Oh Lord, please don’t let me be misunderstood.”
– The Animals (1964)

I’ve been blogging for a long time, and until very recently I did it all in one place, with an eclectic community of online friends and followers. That worked well for quite a while, but eventually my online friends started arguing with each other, and name-calling, in the comment streams of my blogs. So I mostly quit blogging.

And for a couple of years I spent the majority of my cyberlife on Facebook, enjoying the company of the people I know “in real life.” My real-life friends are also extremely diverse, and now that Facebook allows posts that are longer than one sentence, the fur has begun to fly in that cyberworld as well.

So far, I’ve kept my diverse Facebook friends from interacting with each other, by avoiding commenting on polarizing issues at all. I’ve simply internalized the conflict, and made my own self feel lousy because I realize that if I don’t keep my mouth completely shut, each group of friends of mine is gonna turn on me.

The problem is that I am in total solidarity with each of them on some points that are important to me, but in total solidarity with others of them on other points that are important to me, and I love them all, and wish that they all would love me as I am, not as they wish me to be. I mean it: I love them all. These are my real-life friends I’m talking about here. But I sure ’nuff don’t dare have a dinner party and invite the whole lot of them to interact with each other at my house! I’m afraid they’d tear my home to shreds in their anger with each other, and then they all would turn on me for loving THAT type of person.

Well, I’m tired of stifling myself. I’m a blogger, and a communicator, and I just really need SOME platform in my life where I can say what I want to say. So I’ve started blogging again. But nowadays I blog under two different names, three different email addresses, and five different blogs.  And I have turned off “Publicize” so that none of my Facebook friends will have a clue what I think about anything other than puppies and chocolate desserts.

Do any of the rest of y’all have this problem? What do you do to cope?

2 thoughts on “Blogging out of both sides of my brain

  1. I have three WordPress blogs, two Twitter accounts, and SO MANY emails accounts for different occasions. Yep. I hear you.

    • Funny you should mention! I just stumbled my way over to your blog, read, liked, and followed, thinking “this one I understand” when lo, a tiny star appeared up top beside my name to tell me someone had commented, did I approve? ‘Twas you. Very pleased to meet you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

