The sky is NOT falling


Listen up, kids. I have suffered under self-proclaimed prophets. I have lived through a number of losses of various sorts. I fed a family of five, plus 2 dogs, on $30 a week in the late 1980s. I have been promoted beyond my wildest dreams, then had the whole office closed in a corporate restructuring. I have gone from well-paid management to learning how to make donuts at minimum wage, and then back up again to corporate accountant, and then laid off by a whole new company. I have built my own house with my family, and then lost both the house and the family in a divorce. There’s more, and I ain’t gonna tell you. But the sky is NOT falling.

I am not a pollyanna. I am realistic. People can survive without a lot of things. A LOT of things. Some things matter a lot. And some things just don’t really matter much at all, even though they take up a lot of time and energy.

If you have a particular gripe with religion, or even with God himself — get over it. You’ve probably bought a line of bull. Prayer is a GOOD thing. You should try it. You don’t like the way it’s gone for you before, or you don’t like the way some people who have preached to you in the past have done their preaching or their teaching or whatever — get over it. You WOULD be better at coping with all this latest nonsense on earth if you knew it was okay for you to talk to God as if you mattered to him.

Give it a try.

I’ve got other practical advice I’d be willing to hand out free for nothing. But the thing you need to know most is what I just told you. God made you. God does care how it goes for you. Have a word with him, even if you start out by yelling.

Leave a Reply

